Wild Edibles: Wild Bergamot

Monarda fistulosa WILD BERGAMOT

Monarda fistulosa WILD BERGAMOT (Photo credit: gmayfield10)

Wild Bergamot (Monarda fistulosa), also known as Beebalm and Oswego Tea, is an aromatic member of the mint family.  It has a burst of pink-purple flowers set on a square stem, and though it is a mint, it doesn’t have the traditional minty scent.  Once properly identified, you’ll begin seeing it everywhere, as it is very common throughout most of the United States, particularly the northern region.

 

Harvest and Preparation 

The parts of the plant to be interested in are the leaves and flowers.  Both are very aromatic, and the flowers are stronger than the leaves.

To gather, just pinch off a leaf or two off of several plants if you are able as to not damage the plant.  If there aren’t many in the area you’re in, harvest the leaves and flowers off of a plant or two and leave the rest.  Wild bergamot is a common plant, but if you have the opportunity, scatter some seeds in the place where you gathered them to ensure a future crop.

To prepare, wash in cold water and add immediately to salads or dry for teas.

Culinary Uses

As of this moment, this is all research for me, but I will soon be exploring the woods of New Hampshire, so I will hopefully find some there!

When used fresh, a few leaves and flowers can be added to salads to add an interesting flavor.  A tea can also be made from the dried leaves and was traditionally used in conjunction with honey to treat colds and flu, as well as for infections of the mouth.  The tea can be sipped for enjoyment and not just medicine, though it seems like it would be really strong so I wouldn’t use much.

I’m particularly interested for its use in tea and wish I had properly cleaned the leaves I harvested before drying.  When I collected this plant from the wild my intent was to use it as an interesting note in my incense blends, so I was pleasantly surprised to learn its other uses!

Conclusion

Unfortunately that’s all I know about bergamot for now!  If you know of any more uses, drop a comment below! Have a good one!

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mona
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 05:28:35

    It’s so different and beautiful too………….

    Reply

Leave a comment